Windows 7

You can also visit my other blog at www.softknowledge.wordpress.com

Tips and Tricks

You can also visit my other blog at www.softknowledge.wordpress.com

How To(s)

You can also visit my other blog at www.softknowledge.wordpress.com

Downloads

You can also visit my other blog at www.softknowledge.wordpress.com

Wallpapers

You can also visit my other blog at www.softknowledge.wordpress.com

Quote of the Day

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Microsoft Word 2007 - Home Tab

Microsoft Word 2007 - Home Tab
 
The Home Tab is by far the most important Tab in Microsoft Word 2007. The Home Tab contains all the commands that are used most often. These include formatting commands like changing text size, font style, font color, list types, and clipboard functionality like Cut, Copy and Paste. Furthermore, the home tab in Word 2007 includes features like text alignment, line spacing, gallery styles and theme settings. Finally, the Home Tab includes the ability to find and replace text.

For this lesson I will be using a sample resume for practice. Here is a print screen of the Home Tab in Microsoft Word 2007.





The groups on the Home Tab are as follows:

Clipboard
Font
Paragraph
Styles
Editing
Let us take a look at these groups one at a time. The first one is the Clipboard. This group includes popular commands like Cut, Copy and Paste. Using the Cut command, you can remove a piece of text from one location and insert it into a new location within the same document. You can also use the Copy command instead of the Cut command, however this will leave the original text in place. Next you can browse to the new location where you would like to insert the cut text. Using the Paste command you can then insert the text at this new spot.

For our example, I am going to move the section on Education all the way down in sample resume. You can first select the text using the keyboard or mouse. Next you can click on Cut button to add this to the clipboard. Here is a screen shot of what I am talking about.





Next I scroll all the way down in sample resume. I find a new line and click on the mouse to enable the insertion point. Then, I click on the Paste command under the Clipboard group to insert the section on Education.

Here is a screen capture of this action:





You will notice that the Education text block has now been inserted into the new area which happens to be on a new page. You can see that we are currently on the second page whereas we were on page one before we did the Cut and Paste operation.





When you need to modify a part of the text in your Microsoft Word document, you can use the Font group under Home Tab. You can choose from options like font size, font type, bold, italicize, underline etc. In addition you can highlight a portion of your document and experiment with different font colors under the Font group in Microsoft Word 2007. Here is a display of the formatting options relating to Font.

Let's say we would like to change TECHNICAL SUMMARY heading in sample resume to bold. You can highlight the specific text and then click on the Bold command as shown in the red square below.





Here is the end result in Bold instead of Normal font setting shown previously.





Notice that the font group also has a dialog box launcher on the bottom-right corner in the Ribbon screen shot below. This gives you even more options related to font and character spacing. These may look familiar to you as they were available in Microsoft Word 2003 and earlier versions. The next few figures display these options.












I'm going to switch back to the Format Painter option that I skipped over from the clipboard group. This is a handy little feature that will let you copy formatting from one place to another using the mouse. This is what you need to do. First you need to select your text, apply the necessary formatting and then double click on the format painter command. Now you can highlight any text in your document that needs to have the same formatting. Sweet! In the case of sample resume, I want to copy formatting from Technical Summary to all the Headings like Software Skillset, Professional Experience, etc. Here is a screen shot of the needed steps in order.





As long as the Format Painter option is enabled, you can simply copy that formatting anywhere in the document. I just applied the formatting from Technical Summary to Software Skillset as shown below.





I also feel that I need to emphasize the Technical Summary portion of my document. I'm going to highlight the specific area and then change the font style to something more eye catching. After I select my text, I can click on font style drop down, and try one of the many available fonts from the list. You will notice as you hover over these font styles, Microsoft word 2007 will give you a live preview of what the text will look like after the selection has been made. I really like the Live Preview feature in Microsoft word 2007, very cool. I think I like the Franklin Gothic Demit font style, so I will choose that one. This is shown as follows.





The Headings look good in sample resume, however actual software skills look rather blah. How about a little font color change to spice things up? I can do just that by using the color palette options under the font group. Purple looks good so I will select this choice for skills section. sample resume looks acceptable now so I will go ahead and save this document.





Sometimes you may have made a lot of changes, maybe more than you wanted to, I do that sometimes. At that juncture you may wish to clear all the formatting from your document. You are in luck as Microsoft Word 2007 has just this option for you. It is the Clear Formatting command under the Font group. The keyboard shortcut for this is Ctrl + Spacebar.

Here is what it looks like and the screen capture below.





After I used this option, I was able to get back to original plain resume. It's good to remember the Clear Formatting option when you need to get back to the way things were originally.





Moving on to the Paragraph Group, here you are able to start a bulleted list, numbered list, multilevel list, increase or decrease indentation, change the text alignment, increase or decrease line spacing... Furthermore you can add features like borders and shading. Here is a screen shot of this listed below.





The Paragraph Group in Microsoft Word 2007 has a lot of different options just like the font group. Let us jump right into it and start looking at these features one at a time. After I switched sample resume to the old boring format, I am ready to redesign it again. I will be using bullets to highlight the Technical Summary section. In order to do this, I will select the section and then click on Bullets command on the paragraph group.

Here is an example using this feature.





As I scroll down sample resume, I would like to align all the employers along the right margin. You can do this by selecting the appropriate text and choosing the align text right command.

I have a screen capture of this right below in red rectangle. Notice that now the employer info. has shifted to the right margin, perfect!





Within job highlights, all the items are jumbled up, that is definitely not good. I would like to possibly use a numbered list to organize the highlights of prior job positions. Let's try this in our next practice area. You can highlight the necessary part in your document, click on the numbered drop down menu of commands as shown below.

In case I used the one in the red square. After I selected this option, it applied the formatting rather nicely to sample resume, shown in the long red rectangle.





As a final touch to position highlights at the consulting company in Bloomington Minnesota, I would like to add some more line spacing here. Currently it is using a single spacing which needs to be changed to 1.5 instead. I will highlight the text, click on the line spacing command and then choose 1.5. This will apply the correct line spacing as follows.





The last feature I want to look at in the paragraph group is the ability to add indentation in a document. A good candidate for this in sample resume is the Education section. I will highlight that entire area and then click on increase indent command (red square). When I did that, it moved the text to the right about half an inch.

This is illustrated by the red arrows shown below. Ok, I am done with this resume for now so I will go ahead and save it.





The next group, Styles is going to make the biggest impact in your document layout and design. Microsoft Word 2007 has done an excellent job of creating pre-defined quick text styles that you can easily put to work.

A style is a set of formatting settings, such as font type, size, color, paragraph alignment, spacing and graphic settings. When you use these ready made styles to format your document, you can quickly and easily apply a set of formatting choices consistently throughout your document.

Here is a screen capture of the different styles with a preview of what they look like on top.





Notice in the document above we are using Normal style. Right next to it you will see some other gallery styles, including Heading 5, Strong, Subtitle etc. In order to work with the styles, you can simply highlight the text and choose one of the many pre-defined styles.

Let's practice with one of these styles now. We are going to select contact information in the resume, and choose one of the styles. This is what you need to do to make this happen. First select the text that you would like to change (step 1), then click on quick styles (step 2) and finally choose one of the available styles. Using these steps I was able to change contact information to Intense Quote, very nice indeed.

Here's what it looks like on my computer screen.





Another excellent function of this group is the Live Preview mode in Microsoft Word 2007. When you highlight certain text and choose a quick style, Microsoft will apply a temporary formatting to it that will let you review the style before you decide to accept, sort of like "Test drive before you buy". You can even change the style in your document to a global level by choosing Style Set command under the styles group.

Here is a screen shot of this with the necessary steps in order of action.





Using the same Quick Styles I'm going to apply the Heading 2 to Software Skillset and Professional Experience also. These are visible by the red rectangle in the screen capture below.




Sample resume is looking quite good now as opposed to the plain one that I started with. However I still need to add a little more pizazz to this document. What can we do to achieve this? How about using one of the ready made style sets available from the styles group? When you select one of these style sets, you will notice that not only do the styles on the ribbon change but all styles in your document are updated as well.

Before using the style sets you need to define elements like headings, titles, quotes, and subtitles in your document. We already did that in the previous step so we are good to go. For sample resume I will click on change styles, choose style set, and then select "Word 2007" style. Wow! Notice the dramatic change in my document as captured by the screen shot below!





I think I have finally found what I was looking for. Sample resume looks awesome with selected color scheme, font choices and smooth graphical formatting. Let us go ahead and save this document now.

Here is a preview of the final product, just a little improvement over the original one, don't you think?





The final option I wanted to talk about is the Editing group. This will help us in finding text, replacing text and selecting document elements. Let's say you wanted to find a certain text or expression in your document, no problem. I can use the Find command to do just that. You can even change the text easily by using the replace command. In my case I want to replace the word DBA to database administrator in sample resume.

I need to select the text first, click on Editing option and then choose Replace. This is shown below in the screen shot.





This will invoke the Find and Replace dialog box as shown below. The original word is in Find what textbox, the new word is in the Replace with textbox. As I click Replace, it will switch DBA to database administrator.

I have highlighted the first word that it found as shown below. This looks good so let's go ahead and click on Replace All command button.

Microsoft Word 2007 - The New Look

Microsoft Word 2007 - The New Look

Original Text was taken from www.learningcomputer.com
 
Microsoft has done a great job with the new graphic user interface in Microsoft Office 2007. It has a brand new look and feel. The focus behind the change is an optimized, task oriented approach which translates to better documents prepared in less time. Let us take a look at some of these new features in Microsoft Word 2007:
  • Office Button
  • The Ribbon
  • Quick Access Toolbar
  • Mini Toolbar
  • Shortcut Menu

Office ButtonThe Office Button in Microsoft Word 2007 replaces the File menu available in previous versions of Word. The new Office Button is shown below.



The Office Button provides functionality common to all Office applications, including opening, saving, printing, and closing a file. Commands are listed on the left, and recently opened documents appear on the right side. When I click on the Office Button in Microsoft Word 2007, this is what I see:






As you click on the various commands, you will be given related options. For example, when I selected the Print command, I was given the flyout menu with additional print options like Print, Quick Print and Print Preview. Here is a screen shot shown below.








The Ribbon:


In Microsoft Word 2007, the old Menus and the Toolbars have been replaced by what's called the Ribbon. The Ribbon is what Microsoft is calling the new user interface. The idea is to give the application user a task oriented user interface where one will spend more time working on the actual document and less time looking for specific commands. Here is a screen shot of what the Ribbon looks like.






The Ribbon in Microsoft Word 2007 is broken down into Tabs that deal specifically with a certain task. For example if you're trying to insert an object, you will find the related commands under the Insert Tab. The tabs are further broken down into logical groups. For example if you're in the Home Tab, all the text formatting commands will be found under the Font group. The Tab (top) and the Group (bottom) areas are shown in the figure below and highlighted using red rectangles.








Quick Access Toolbar:The next new feature in Microsoft Word 2007 that we are going to look at is the Quick Access Toolbar. The Quick Access Toolbar is a global toolbar which is present regardless of what tab you are on. Out of the box, Quick Access Toolbar has the Save, Undo, and Redo commands. Here is what the Quick Access Toolbar looks like on my screen.







You can customize the Quick Access Toolbar to add the more often used commands. Let us say that you wanted to add the Bold command to this Quick Access Toolbar. If you can, browse to the Home Tab and then the Font group. Next, move the mouse over the bold icon, right click and then select Add to Quick Access Toolbar. This will add the Bold command to the quick access toolbar and will be present at all times. This is shown below in the next two figures.












Mini Toolbar:The Mini Toolbar is also a big time saver as it also contains commonly used commands in Microsoft Word 2007. If you highlight some text using the mouse, you will see a faded Mini toolbar. As you move the mouse towards the faded area, it will become solid and then you can select one of the commands on it. Here is a screen shot of what I'm talking about.







Example: we're going to change the color of the quoted article to blue. In order to do this I'm going to highlight text and then use the Mini Toolbar to change the font color. This is shown below in the illustration.








Shortcut Menu:The last thing I want to cover is the Shortcut Menu sometimes known as the Right Click Menu or Context Menu. The concept for the shortcut menu is similar to the Mini Toolbar. The idea is to have common commands available to you as you're working on your document. However there is one BIG difference. The Shortcut Menu changes depending what screen and application you are in. On the other hand, the Mini Toolbar does not change. Here is a screen shot of what it looks like on my document.







If you notice the Shortcut Menu not only has formatting commands for text, paragraphs settings, line numbering etc. you can also view features such as finding synonyms, translating to another language, inserting a hyperlink and reference features. Also notice that on top of the shortcut menu, you will find the Mini Toolbar for easy access and use

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Block Virus Or Trojans Being Transferred To FlashDrive

Want to protect your USB Flash Drive, iPod and other removable USB storage device from getting infected from virus ?

Viruses spread fastly through pendrives when we use in schools, colleges and office. In order to prevent your USB Drive from getting infected, you will need to create some files on your pen drive likeAutorun.inf file and some other files which will later prevent the virus infection as these files being already created and cannot be deleted, so that virus or trojan cannot copy files and folders or create them on your USB Drive when you connect your drive to virus infected PC.

There some freeware to vaccinate your USB drives from virus infection.Today I came across a tool called USB Defender. Its really cool !!!

Features of “USB Defender”

USB Defender is a simple tool which extremely easy to use.
You can see just two buttons on it: “Protect” and “Unprotect”. First button you are using to vaccinate your drive,

Second button to remove Protection

 
When you insert any pendrive USB defender program automatically detects it, if there is any protectionactive and only one button will be available for you.

USB Defender is fully portable – so you can take it with you wherever you want. Get USB Defender and take it for a spin to see what it can actually do for you!

I enabled show hidden files option and checked pendrive in windows Xp but I found no files. Then rebooted the sytem and entered Ubuntu 10.04
I inserted pendrive and found USB defender added Autorun.inf and vaccinated it….



7 Things You Didn't Know About VLC

7 Things You Didn't Know About VLC 

1. Rip DVDs: 

VLC includes a basic DVD ripper. You probably would never use it when there are better DVD rippersavailable, but it helps to know that you can in fact, get a decent quality DVD rip with VLC. To rip a movie follow these steps: Go to the Media menu and choose Convert–>Save. Click on the Disc tab. 

Here you can adjust the Starting Position and rip only specific titles or chapters. 

Enter file name making sure to end with .MPG, and start ripping. 

Click Save. 

2. Record videos: 

With the new VLC, you can record videos during playback. The record button is hidden by default. To see it, click on View–>Advanced Control. The record button will now appear. Clicking on the button while playing a movie or video will start recording. Clicking again will stop recording. 

3. Play RAR files: 

Do you know VLC can play videos zipped inside RAR files? They play like normal video files and you can even use the seek bar. If the RAR file is split into several files, no problem. Just load the first part (.part001.rar ) and it will automatically take the rest of the parts and play the whole file. 

4. Play in ASCII mode: 

VLC media player has an amusing ability, to playback movies in ASCII art. To enable ASCII mode, open VLC media player and click on Tools –>Preferences. Open the section “Video” section and under “Output” select “Color ASCII art video output” from the drop down menu. Save it. Now play any video file to enjoy the ASCII art. 

5. Listen to online radio: 

VLC includes hundreds of Shoutcast radio stations. You just need to enable it through Media –>Services Discovery –> Shoutcast radio listings. Now, open the Playlist and browse through the stations. 

6. Convert Audio and Video formats: 

In VLC you can convert video and audio files from one format to another. Several different formats are supported like MP4, WMV, AVI, OGG, MP3 etc. To access the converter: 

* Go to Media –>Convert/Save. 

* Load the file you want to convert using the Add button and click Convert. 

* Now choose the output format and output file location. 

7. Download YouTube and other online videos: 

First grab the URL of the YouTube video page. Now click on Media –>Open Network stream. Paste the URL and click Play. 

Once VLC starts streaming the video, click Tools –>Codec Information and at the bottom of the window you will see a Location box. Copy the URL and paste it on your browser’s address bar. The browser will now download the file which you can save it to your hard disk. Alternatively, you can record the video.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

MS PowerPoint: When You Need More Undos


MS PowerPoint: When You Need More Undos

Do you “undo” a lot in MS PowerPoint?

Ever run out of undo steps and wish for more?

If your response was yes, here’s what you need to know about PowerPoint to get a few (or a lot) more undo steps added to your list.

Use the Office Button / File tab of the Ribbon, PowerPoint Options button, to get to the Options dialog box.


We need the Advanced category of options, Editing section.


Set a value between 3 and 150 in the Maximum number of undos: field.

Click OK.

That’s it. You now have the power to undo more steps than you can probably even remember!

And… as a special bonus, you can use this technique in other MS Office programs to increase the number of available undos… one trick, many places of application.

Auto Clicker Typer


Auto Clicker Typer

It seems like in this day and age; computers should be able to do more of our work for us. Just last week, I was working on a project and I had to print 30 different web pages, and set the same special printer settings for each one. Talk about something being painstakingly boring! So, I searched for a solution and found Auto Clicker Typer, which is a macro recorder. A macro is a set of instructions for your computer, and Auto Clicker Typer records and automates mouse clicks and keyboard strokes in a macro. Your computer executes these instructions as if you were sitting at the desk doing them yourself! Try and think of some boring repetitive tasks that you have to do on a regular basis… Auto Clicker Typer can and will do them for you!

Auto Clicker Typer’s download page can be found here. Near the bottom of the page, you’ll find, Please Click Here to start your download.

Follow the simple setup wizard. In the final step, the wizard will ask you if you’d like to install a new search engine. If you’re not interested, be sure to uncheck the Install checkbox.

Double click the Auto Clicker Typer icon on the desktop, and presto, it opens!
autoclickertyper1
To become familiar with how to use Auto Clicker Typer, let’s learn the two main hot keys. Hit the Hot Keys button.

Here we can see to begin recording our macro we type Ctrl+Shift+0, and to stop it type Ctrl+Shift+1. These hot keys will save us time in making macros.

autoclickertyper2
Now we are ready for a test run in making macros. This macro will open the Control Panel for us.

First, hit Ctrl+Shift+0 to begin recording, then press the Start Button and then Control Panel. Now typeCtrl+Shift+1, and we are done! Not too hard, nah?

You’ll notice that Auto Clicker Typer translated our actions into instructions the computer can understand. To watch our macro at work, click the Play button and the Start button will click, followed by the Control Panel.

autoclickertyper3

Ready to give it a spin on your own? Just begin with the record hot key Ctrl+Shift+0 and begin your task on the computer and when you’ve completed, select Ctrl+Shift+1. Then press Play to test it out. Works almost like magic!

To save your macros so you can use them whenever you want, select Save List, name and choose the destination of your macro, and press Save.

To open a saved macro, just select Open List, find your macro and click Open.

To save yourself some hassle, you can assign hot keys to your macros. From the Auto Clicker Typer interface, click Auto Script Keys, and one window will open up.

Simply choose a key combination, and browse for your macro files to pair them up. Easy!
The last tip I have for you is if you want your macros to repeat on their own. For example, when I had to print 30 documents and adjust my printer settings 30 times, automatic repetition would have helped a ton. In the top right-hand corner of Auto Clicker Typer there is a loop function. Just check the box and enter how many times you’d like the macro to repeat.

autoclickertyper6
And that’s it; with a little practice, I know all of you can become macro masters! If you encounter any difficulties, leave a comment below and we’ll be sure to help you out.

Creating Visual Breaks without using Cell Borders in MS Excel


Creating Visual Breaks without using Cell Borders in MS Excel

When setting up a worksheet where we need to separate one section of information from another, and present that separation clearly, we often use cell borders to accomplish the job.

Obviously that option is a great way to get the job done, but we tend to use those for everything… so making that visual break between data sections requires a bit of finesse with those borders.

What if we could create a visual break with a line created from a single character… let’s say an X or a ~ or maybe even a combination of X~? What about a word or phrase…

No, I’m not suggesting that you sit there and repeatedly hit a specific key or type a word over and over. If you’re going to use the line several times then you either do a lot of copy / paste work or end up with lines of different lengths… not necessarily the preferred situation.

Today I’m going to throw the use of the REPT formula out there for your consideration.

This formula allows you to state specific characters to be repeated and the number of times to repeat them without the hassle of actually entering each character separately.

Here’s how the formula is set up:
=REPT(“characters to repeat“, Number of times to repeat the characters)

For example, if I want a line of ~ marks that is 95 characters long, I would enter =REPT(“~”, 95) into the cell where the line should begin.

The result looks like this:


If you want a fancier line, try =REPT(“~**”, 60) to get this one:


Let’s look at the possibilities with actually marking it with text… such as confidential…

*** To get this line of characters into multiple cells at one time simply select all the cells where the REPT formula should be placed (use the Ctrl key to select non-adjacent cells), enter the formula then use Ctrl + Enter to put it into all selected cells at once.

Also, as I’m sure you noted when looking at the examples above, you can further change the appearance with the font type and other formatting tricks available to you; such as color, bold, size, etc…

Windows 7 Libraries

Guide to Windows 7 Libraries

A Library in Windows 7 is a set of folders within your computer to categorize things in a better way, with more control to group or save the files anywhere on the PC. We have been using similar features in earlier versions of Windows (and in Windows 7) which are My Pictures, My Documents etc. But back then, you could save your files to that particular location specified for those libraries. With the new Library feature in Windows 7, you have total control on adding folders from all over the PC to any such Library, save files to any of them and even create new Libraries depending on your needs.

INFO: Head over to Microsoft to learn more about the Library feature.

Creating a New Library

Open the explorer window and right-click on Libraries. Go to New>Library. Name the library whatever you like.


Monday, February 21, 2011

How to start up folders in Vista and Windows 7 with menu on the top

How to start up folders in Vista and Windows 7 with File, Edit, View, Tools, etc. on the top

Instead of this:


Wouldn't it be nice to have it like this?
Vista and Windows 7 has the “old” way of having the menu on top disabled by default, but it does let you enable it temporarily, if you would like.

When you have a folder open, press the Alt key and the menu will appear. Press Alt again and it will disappear.

Temporarily is fine, but here is how to do it so that the menu bar stays there:

First, open one of your Windows folders. I opened the User folder. To access it, go to your Start button and left-click. The Start menu will pop up; go up to the very top of the right pane where your name is (under the picture), and left-click on it.
































Your user folder will pop up and the top-left of the folder will look something like this:












To enable the menu bar permanently (or until you want to change it back), left-click on Organize. On the drop-down menu, left-click on Layout. A new menu will pop up.























Okay, last step. Point your Cursor to Menu Bar (it's at the top of the menu) and left-click to put a check by it.


























That's it! Now every time you open a folder in Windows, the menu bar will be there.

(Note: If you decide you want it disabled, just follow the above instructions, only when you get to Menu Bar, left-click on it to remove the check mark.)